h1

Students’ blogs appear in the sidebar

9 Sep 2008

Blog post No. 1 was due today at 10 a.m.

So at 9:30 a.m., I went into the Dashboard of THIS blog and built the RSS feeds (using the WordPress RSS widget) that you see in the sidebar. Each RSS widget shows the title of the blog and the title and date of the most recent post. This is easy to do because every WordPress.com blog automatically has an RSS feed.

At 10 a.m., I opened each of the posts and saved it as a complete Web page to my hard drive. This enables Curt (my T.A.) and me to grade the actual post that was online at 10 a.m. Deadlines are important in journalism, so I see the 12-week blog exercise as one way to train students to respect their deadlines.

One comment

  1. Hi Mindy – I am involved with teaching sub-editing to fourth-year journalism students (none of whom have ever blogged! Strange, but true). I am delighted to have stumbled across your projects, which you share so generously online. In trying to get the students reading and writing (as well as thinking and reading about writing), we are setting up a similar project and, with the first blog posts due in today, I’m feeling even more excited and inspired. Thank you. Anne



Leave a Reply

